

PENTACHLOROPHENOL AND SOME RELATED COMPOUNDS

VOLUME 117

This publication represents the views and expert opinions of an IARC Working Group on the Evaluation of Carcinogenic Risks to Humans, which met in Lyon, 4–11 October 2016

LYON, FRANCE - 2019

ON THE EVALUATION
OF CARCINOGENIC RISKS
TO HUMANS



LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Members 1

Scott M. Bartell (Subgroup Chair, Exposure Data)

Department of Statistics and Department of Epidemiology University of California Irvine, CA USA

Frédéric Y. Bois

National Institute for Industrial Safety and Environmental Protection (INERIS) Verneuil-en-Halatte France

Gloria M. Calaf

Instituto de Alta Investigación Tarapaca University Arica Chile

Weihsueh A. Chiu (Overall Chair)

Department of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences College of Veterinary Medicine Texas A&M University College Station, TX USA

¹ Working Group Members and Invited Specialists serve in their individual capacities as scientists and not as representatives of their government or any organization with which they are affiliated. Affiliations are provided for identification purposes only. Invited Specialists do not serve as Meeting Chair or Subgroup Chair, draft text that pertains to the description or interpretation of cancer data, or participate in the evaluations. Each participant was asked to disclose pertinent research, employment, and financial interests. Current financial interests and research and employment interests during the past 4 years or anticipated in the future are identified here. Minor pertinent interests are not listed and include stock valued at no more than US\$ 1000 overall, grants that provide no more than 5% of the research budget of the expert's organization and that do not support the expert's research or position, and consulting or speaking on matters not before a court or government agency that does not exceed 2% of total professional time or compensation. All grants that support the expert's research or position and all consulting or speaking on behalf of an interested party on matters before a court or government agency are listed as significant pertinent interests.

Lisa Connolly [unable to attend]

The Institute for Global Food Security Queen's University Belfast Belfast, Northern Ireland United Kingdom

Paul A. Demers (Subgroup Chair, Cancer in Humans)

Occupational Cancer Research Centre Cancer Care Ontario Toronto, Ontario Canada

Michael J. DeVito

National Toxicology Program
National Institute of Environmental Health
Sciences
Research Triangle Park, NC
USA

Warren G. Foster²

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine and McMaster University Hamilton, Ontario Canada

Melissa Friesen

Occupational and Environmental
Epidemiology Branch
Division of Cancer Epidemiology and
Genetics
National Cancer Institute
North Bethesda, MD
USA

Lin Fritschi

School of Public Health Curtin University Perth, Western Australia Australia

Catherine Gibbons

Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS)
National Center for Environmental
Assessment
United States Environmental Protection
Agency
Washington, DC
USA

Michelle J. Hooth

Program Operations Branch
Division of the National Toxicology Program
National Institute of Environmental Health
Sciences
Research Triangle Park, NC
USA

David J. McLean

Centre for Public Health Research Massey University Wellington New Zealand

Akiyoshi Nishikawa

Biological Safety Research Center National Institute of Health Sciences Tokyo Japan

² After the conclusion of the meeting, Warren G. Foster declared being paid US\$ 4000 by Exponent with support from the American Chemistry Council as co-author of a critical commentary on endocrine-disrupting chemicals.

Matthew K. Ross (Subgroup Chair, Mechanistic and Other Relevant Data)

College of Veterinary Medicine Mississippi State University Mississippi State, MS USA

Consolato Maria Sergi (Subgroup Chair, Cancer in Experimental Animals)

Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology University of Alberta Stollery Children's Hospital Edmonton, Alberta Canada

Takashi Umemura

Section of Chemical Carcinogenesis Division of Pathology National Institute of Health Sciences Tokyo Japan

James H. Yiin

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Cincinnati, OH USA

Invited Specialists

None

Representative

Hamadi Dekhil

National Agency of Sanitary and Environmental Control of Products Tunis Tunisia

Observer³

Valentin Thomas

Paris Dauphine University Paris France

³ Each Observer agreed to respect the Guidelines for Observers at *IARC Monographs* meetings. Observers did not serve as Meeting Chair or Subgroup Chair, draft any part of a *Monograph*, or participate in the evaluations. They also agreed not to contact participants before the meeting, not to lobby them at any time, not to send them written materials, and not to offer them meals or other favours. IARC asked and reminded Working Group Members to report any contact or attempt to influence that they may have encountered, either before or during the meeting.

IARC/WHO Secretariat

Lamia Benbrahim-Tallaa (Rapporteur, Mechanistic and Other Relevant Data) Véronique Bouvard (Rapporteur, Exposure Data)

Rafael Carel (Visiting Scientist, Ben Gurion University, Israel)

Davide Egli Esposti (Section of Mechanisms of Carcinogenesis)

Nilmara de Oliveira Alves Brito (*Visiting Scientist, University of São Paulo, Brazil*)

Fatiha El Ghissassi (*Rapporteur, Mechanistic* and Other Relevant Data)

Yann Grosse (Rapporteur, Cancer in Experimental Animals)

Neela Guha (*Rapporteur, Cancer in Humans*)

Kathryn Guyton (Responsible Officer; Rapporteur, Mechanistic and Other Relevant Data)

Dana Loomis (Rapporteur, Cancer in Humans)

Heidi Mattock (Scientific Editor)

Andrew Shapiro (Visiting Scientist, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, USA)

Kurt Straif (Head of Programme)

Production Team

Elisabeth Elbers Fiona Gould Solène Quennehen

Post-Meeting Assistance

Karen Müller (Scientific Editor)

Post-Meeting Scientific Assistance

Mary Schubauer-Berigan

Administrative Assistance

Natacha Blavoyer Marieke Dusenberg Sandrine Egraz Michel Javin Helene Lorenzen-Augros